Mini-break Paradise!

720c0-800px-mood_dice-svg

I am in a great mood at the moment, because I have just gotten back from an incredible 4 day holiday with my father and daughter. I worked it out and in the past 10 years I have had 15 days away (I mean out of the county, I have spent a few weeks with my grandma who lives less than a mile away but that doesn’t really count)… so this break was seriously needed.

What made it all the more special was that I got to share it with my daughter. Since she still lives with my parents getting the chance to go away with her for a few days is special. Though I must admit I am extremely lucky and my parents have never put any restrictions on me seeing her so I have always had plenty of access. I actually have an amazing kid… and I am very lucky to have her. She is smart, intelligent, funny, witty, gorgeous, probably a little sarcastic and she definitely has her mother’s temper… but I couldn’t be prouder!!! She is the one thing I did right and I know I made the world a better place by having her.

Spending time with my dad was pretty awesome too. We don’t get munch 1 on 1 time these days and we have always gotten along well so it was really nice to spend time together. The only person missing was my mum, who unfortunately had to work.

We went to North Norfolk, which is roughly a three-hour drive away. I know it isn’t going half way round the world but having a break from my crazy life is worth it wherever I go. It is a gorgeous area, with loads to do. The cottage we stayed in had acres of woodland around it that we could go exploring in, we had pretty good weather (despite torrential rain on the way up there), so spent some time on the beach, as well as going to a local horse sanctuary, the sea-life centre and an amazing boat ride to see seals in the wild. We saw an incredible variety show and had fish and chips by the sea.  It really was an incredible break.

The amazing thing is this holiday has made my depression feel lighter, my pain feel less consuming, and I feel better able to cope with the world. Even dealing with a particularly large spider was okay! Sometimes getting out of your life, even for a few days, can work wonders. I know I certainly feel a ton better.

Here are a couple of pictures I took. x

1450757_10207679765181267_8549709770228145209_n 10247254_10207689885754275_6825663269585801633_n 11949398_10207679730060389_1983561606593290205_n 11951827_10207679741700680_2463337738775933173_n holiday

You have to remember the good times to overcome the bad… so this is me, remembering the best of times! Having mental health problems is like swimming against a strong tide. Sometimes it feels impossible, you can get swept off course without really noticing and it is exhausting. A strong family and/ or support group, however, is the life boat. The one that pulls you back on track and is always there to rescue you. Well… I am lucky enough to have a whole fleet of life boats! I feel like this holiday readjusted my course properly though. So I am feeling pretty good at the moment which is why I wanted to share it with you all!

4 thoughts on “Mini-break Paradise!

  1. Interesting you mentioned about swimming against the tide…..On the boat trip to see the seals, the old clinker built boat we were on sometimes really had to strain against the tide…despite high revs, sometimes we looked out and the boat had lost ground…it was quite disorientating, and I imagine is a good analogy for you…you can try so hard and find you have actually gone backwards…othertimes, you just go with the flow and it works ! Glad you feel good !

  2. Thank you for your comment! I have always said we often underestimate the power of the sea… the thing is, water is patient. It will take its time but it WILL carve paths through mountains.

    I did a sailing course with the RYA a few years ago and was staggered by the force of the water and how quickly it could change our course if we got distracted.

    I hope you have a great evening. x

Leave a Reply

