Exciting news!

So, ladies and gentlemen, it has been just over a year since I started this blog. I could never have imagined how successful it would become. It just goes to show how many people are affected across the globe by the problems I write about.

I wanted to write briefly today about some exciting news I got recently. I have been invited by a very well-known publisher for an informal chat about the possibility of me writing a book. This is a dream of mine, and without you all it would never have happened. Should this book happen I can’t wait to take you all on this adventure with me, but for now just knowing that people like reading what I write so much is an honour.

It has been a very tough year. I have always tried to write honestly about the struggles I face, and it hasn’t always been easy. Shame and embarrassment often cross my mind when I write. But I don’t feel like I could be as successful as I am without being brutally honest. There is a lot of information about mental health problems on the list, but like I have been told in many an email there aren’t so many true-to-life accounts like mine around. Living with mental health problems is hard, but this blog has given me a channel to vent on, a way to process what is going on and the opportunity to help others, even in a small way.

People have questioned the success of the blog given the few number of comments I get. But in my opinion the number of comments was always going to be small, mental health is something most people want to keep private, so ‘lurkers’ are most welcome here. The emails of thanks I get are more than enough to keep me going.

I keep saying ‘my blog’… but that isn’t really true any more. This is OUR blog, where we can discuss things many people shy away from. And without its readers, this blog  wouldn’t mean very much. So thank you! Thank you for your support, your kind words, and for keeping me going when I wanted to give up. If this blog helps just one person I can go to sleep happy each night.

Thank you again!!!!!

One thought on “Exciting news!

  1. Hello Hayley, just writing to say congratulations, it certainly is exciting news. As a fellow sufferer I know how difficult life can be and I admire you for being able to write about it. Although as the years have gone by I am now able to talk to anybody that will listen about mental health issues – I’m sure I must bore them now. All the very best x

Leave a Reply

