A letter to my sister on her wedding day

OLD COMPUTER PICS 437 Mia! And Present day 046

Ladies and Gentlemen, meet my sister! She is getting married today and there are some things I wanted her to know.

My dearest sister,

We have had some really tough times together. We have had to be brave, fight, hold on to tiny bits of hope and remain strong. It hasn’t been an easy journey, but looking at you now you should be so proud of yourself for all you have accomplished. You know I carry a lot of guilt about certain things, but when Andre proposed to you the way that he did I knew he was the right person to take the torch and be your protector. You have a man that loves the bones of you, and you so deserve it.

Things wont always be easy. You are both going to have teething issues to begin with. But I wanted to give you one piece of advice- one thing that will always keep your marriage and the love you have for each other as strong as it is today.  Just one word. Talk. Never stop talking to each other. Never go to bed angry. Never forget to say ‘I love you’. Compromise where you can. As long as you are both willing to talk your marriage will be safe.

We shared some bad times, but we have had far more good times together than bad ones. I used to hum to you at night when you were scared, read to you, cuddle you- and draw on you with felt tip pens! I couldn’t have asked for a better sister. I genuinely feel honoured to have you in my life.

Today is going to be emotional. A new chapter can’t start without the previous one ending. But you are blessed with a family that will go to the ends of the earth for you.

Today you will transform from Miss to Mrs in front of our eyes, and I am so happy I get to share this special moment with you. Your family is about to double in size, and that really is something special. I have no worries about you. I know you will make an excellent wife, you have chosen the right man, and I know everything is going to be okay. You have a man that is going to give you chocolate and hot water bottles when it is ‘that time of the moth’. A man that will bravely follow you when you are in a strop. A man that will always do his best for you.

You just be firm to keep him in line when he goes a tad overboard!

This will be the most special day of your life. Please enjoy it! Leave the stress and worries to other people. This day is a day for looking forward, not back. And I am glad we are remembering lost friends at this time. You can call me Deirdre!

I hope you have the amazing day you deserve. I know things will run smoothly and I know whatever happens you will be amazing. You have never been anything short of that. Darling I love you so much. I am so proud of you. After what we have battled together, this will be a breeze!

All my love,

 

Hayley

Zoo August 2010 077

 

Leave a Reply

