The truth about Dissociative Identity Disorder (Multiple Personality Disorder)

17

Dissociative Disorder (DD) is commonly known as multiple personality disorder. Before I start, I want to let you know this is a new diagnosis for me (I was told in April) and it is only mild in my situation.

People with DD usually have different personalities, called ‘Alters’, and they switch between their Alters without really knowing it. An Alter can be human, or an animal. Alters can have different names, personalities, even ages. These Alters help the person in question cope with different situations. For example, if the person in question was in a threatening situation, their ‘Protection’ alter may take over. Each Alter can have different memories that are separate from the other Alters. It is a protection thing, so that the ‘weaker’ alters don’t have to remember the really bad things.

As I mentioned above, my case is really mild. Rather than having Alters, I tend to change fairly quickly. It could be one minute I understand fully what my parents are saying when they are offering advice, and I can be more than willing to accept the advice and implicate it in my life. The next second I could be up on my high horse because what they are saying is wrong and I can do it better on my own. My parents are exhausted trying to keep up and say the right words.

If someone tells you they have multiple personality disorder, your first instinct may be to back away. You might get it confused with schizophrenia. But before you choose to turn around and walk away, please consider this… what happened to them that was SO bad that their mind literally had to crack and fragment to cope with it. And then imagine how you would feel if you were the one that suffered that much and people ran away when you try to open up.

I write with the aim of educating and reducing stigma attached to it. Please help me in my endeavour and share my post. You never know, you could just be sharing it with someone who believes they are alone.

 

4 thoughts on “The truth about Dissociative Identity Disorder (Multiple Personality Disorder)

  1. Pingback: 9/10/13: Two Lives | maigedelgado

  2. There is no such thing as MPD. The diagnosis many of us were given is a scam. Don’t believe me? Check and see how many DID Free Standing Psychiatric Centers are left. Go read Collin Ross’ site… Even he states it is suggestible by therapists. Once I got this square my life improved. Yes there is disassociation but full blown DID was induced by therapists for the purpose of making money.

    • That is an interesting theory. Unfortunately it is incorrect. DID is still a widely recognised and accepted diagnosis. There may not be many units specifically designed for DID sufferers, but that is a costing issue, not a diagnosis issue. Believe it or not there are many ‘crisis houses’ popping up that specifically treat personality disorders- the idea being that those suffering with them are not suited to hospital wards in a crisis. My local crisis house does a daily psychotherapy session for out patients and 3 sessions daily for those staying in the house. They really are an amazing resource. There are conspiracy theories for everything but the words of a few do not and cannot discount the countless medical studies there have been on the issue. Getting a diagnosis of a personality disorder is really hard. It makes it sound like you are a horrible person with a bad personality, so I completely understand why people fight the diagnosis. I don’t need to look any further than myself for proof unfortunately.

      I am glad your life is on the mend, and I hope it continues to do so. Out of interest, what country are you in? There are lots of different things going on in different countries. I am in the UK.

  3. Pingback: Getting a diagnosis: Mental Health Issues | Laments of a Loon

Leave a Reply

