The power of music

Music is possibly one of the most controversial topics there are. We all believe we have the best taste in music, and everything we don’t like is ‘not real music’. Apart from drum and bass. Which is not real music. Interestingly, of course, D&B is the one type of music I will not (can not) listen to.

I am very lucky, in that I was brought up listening to a huge range of music, from different eras as well as genres. Because of that, I have a massive amount of music that is open to me. For example, if you *ONLY* like R&B, you are missing out on Beethoven and Alice Cooper!

Not that it really matters. No matter what music you enjoy, there are songs out there seemingly written just for us. There are songs that cover every possible emotion, most scenarios, and a myriad of other combinations. But, for me, one of the most important qualities music has is to not just match your emotions, but change them too. I currently have over 10,000 songs on my play list, with music from every era, genre and background (apart from the dreaded drum and bass). I also have hundreds of play lists that are catered to what I want from music.

As an example, I have play lists that start with music suited to what I am currently feeling and progress to what I want to be feeling. My head is often a huge jumble of emotions and feelings. And with Borderline Personality Disorder (sometimes referred to as Emotional Intensity Disorder) that can be a pretty scary thing. So I have some pretty scary play lists!!

One of my most used play lists was designed to help when I feel like self harming. When my head is in the ‘dark and twisty’ place, music is one of the most important tools I use to change my mood. I start with music matching my current head space (often with Slipknot, Metallica, Alice Cooper, Korn) then transition to calming music (Beethoven, Bach, Vivaldi) which is the golden space, because from there you can pick and choose your mood and work up to that. If I want to remind myself of my worth, I might play Beverly Knight, Gold. If I want to laugh, then it is time for George Formby, and ‘Weird Al Yankovic’. If it is all about girl power, then it is time for The Spice Girls (oh yes) and Beyonce. If I want to reminisce, I bring out the big guns. Here is where Pink Floyd, Queen, Wham, The Pointer Sisters, Celine Dion, Pink, and The Red Hot Chilli Peppers come in.

It doesn’t really matter what music you like and what you don’t. It is amazing what journeys you can go on. Spotify is one of the best music tools out there at the moment. You can find music you like, then search through the ‘related artists’ or albums that artist has appeared on, which can help you find artists you have forgotten and some new ones which may just make your top ten artists list one day!

There are songs that will help you do your house work, help you sleep, mend a broken heart, send subliminal hate messages to a cheating partner, set you free, give you strength, get married to, relax you, make you feel beautiful, strong, healthy and happy. When was the last time you went back to the songs of your childhood and danced like  you were five?

Have you ever had friends round with the radio on in the background when a song you love comes on and an impromptu Karaoke became the highlight of the night?

Leave a Reply

